Pages Menu
Categories Menu


LSET was chartered in 1992 through the efforts of regional business leaders, chambers of commerce, municipal and county governments and the 20th Anniversary Task Force of Leadership Beaumont, chaired by The Honorable J. Michael Bradford. Members of the LSET Charter Committee were Jack Bartos, Port Arthur; Charles Bilal, Kountze; J. Michael Bradford*, Beaumont; Sandy Bradshaw, Beaumont; Bob Burgess, Hardin County; Patsy Clapper, Beaumont, co-chair; Marty Conway-Craig, Beaumont; Steve Cornell, Port Arthur; Libby Fields Richardson, Groves; Betty Harmon, Orange; Jim Harrington, Port Neches; Gisela Houseman, Orange; Richard P. LeBlanc, Jr., Jefferson County; Ron McKenzie, Port Arthur; W. T. Oliver*, Bridge City; Lee Rogers*, Groves; Dee Sosa, Nederland; Jim Stokes, Beaumont; Andrew N. Van Chau, Port Arthur, co-chair; and Renee Vetitoe, Port Arthur.

From 1992 to July 2007, LSET was a program of the Partnership of Southeast Texas (POST). Tony Houseman*, Orange, served as board chair of SET, Inc. (forerunner of POST) during the inaugural year of Leadership Southeast Texas (1992-1993). From 1992 – 1998, LSET class members represented the “Golden Triangle” area – Hardin, Orange and Jefferson Counties. The LSET Class of 1999 (September 1998 – May 1999) was the first class after LSET’s expansion into the nine-county area of Southeast Texas.