Pages Menu
Categories Menu


The mission of Leadership Southeast Texas (LSET) is to educate, engage, and inspire leaders as regional citizens by promoting a better understanding of the nine counties that comprise Southeast Texas:

  1. Galveston County (Bolivar Peninsula)
  2. Chambers County
  3. Hardin County
  4. Jasper County
  5. Jefferson County
  6. Liberty County
  7. Newton County
  8. Orange County
  9. Tyler County

Each class of executive-level leaders explores strategic issues that significantly impact the area. Since 1992, LSET programs have examined the strengths, weaknesses, obstacles and opportunities for economic development, regional unity and a better quality of life for Southeast Texas residents.

Leadership Southeast Texas (LSET) operates as a 501 (c) (3) regional educational Texas Non-Profit Charitable Corporation. LSET was incorporated July 5, 2007 and is governed by a board of directors. The LSET Advisory Council, a committee of the Governing Board of Directors, is responsible for programming (LSET program, LSET Days in Austin, LSET Day at JASON, Y-LSET Youth Regional Leadership Program, and other alumni initiatives). Bessie Chisum has served as LSET Executive Director since January 1993. The LSET office is housed in the International Safety Training Council (ISTC) Facility in Nederland, Texas.